Surprise!

One thing you should know about me is I love surprises.  I love to be surprised and I love to surprise others.  I absolutely live for the challenge of pulling off a great surprise.  This Christmas I pulled off my biggest one yet.

We had the blessing of being able to go home this Christmas and we decided that instead of telling my parents we were coming home for the holidays, we would simply show up on their doorstep on Christmas day.  I started planning with my brother (Zach) in October making sure that he and his wife (Stephanie) would have some time off and that they could plan to be with my parents.  Not only would we get to spend some quality time with them, but it would also ensure that my parents didn’t plan some sort of last-minute Caribbean cruise or something!  With the planning underway, we got more and more excited.

When I spoke to my parents, I carefully avoided the subject of what we were doing for Christmas and talked more about my company’s Christmas party and all the things our church was doing.  Finally on the 23rd of December, we set off for the airport.  We had a fun two days leading up to Christmas day and I couldn’t get over how excited I was to see our families.  My enthusiasm for all things America and family just kept bubbling over.  I was like a giddy schoolgirl.

Christmas morning finally dawned and it was an amazing day from beginning to end.  We enjoyed Christmas morning with Ben’s family and then had a great lunch together.  We then set off for my parents house.  I have to say that I loved the two and half hour drive to their house.  After having not driven in over a year and a half, it felt great to be on the open roads.  We arrived at my parents house and I drove extremely slowly up their driveway so that they wouldn’t hear the car.  We gently shut the doors of the jeep, crept up the walkway and then slowly tried to open the front door.

It stuck.  I had to mash the handle pretty good before the door gave way and opened.  I could hear my family talking in the living room as Ben and I slowly walked in.  As I turned the corner I said cheerfully, “Merry Christmas!!”  Everyone turned our way and my dad was the first to respond.  He promptly shouted, “What?!  Who is this?!”  My mom’s hand flew to her mouth as she gasped out loud.  The next thing I heard was my dad saying, “this is so cool!”

It finally sunk in to my mom (who thought she was hallucinating!) and she got up and put her hands on both sides of my face and just stared at me for a minute.  Then she kissed my check and pulled me in for a fierce hug.  My dad had finally recognized me by this point and after hugging Ben, he wrapped his arms around me and my mom who were just standing there hugging.  It was the best Christmas gift I have ever been given and the best surprise I have ever pulled off.

One response to “Surprise!

  • Carol Games

    OMGosh! This was THE BEST SURPRISE CHRISTMAS GIFT EVER!! We will always remember this! I can’t believe everyone kept this quiet!! Zach and Stephanie did a marvelous job from Thanksgiving asking if we could do Christmas at our Colorado Springs home to be closer for them from Denver since he had to preach the Sunday after! To asking me to wait to bake on Christmas Day until HE (ZACH) could catch a nap and later help me! Although I thought that odd, HE NEVER ASKS TO BAKE (not since he was little!)It never crossed my mind that Rachael and Ben might be coming!!
    Anyway, WOW! This was one of the BEST Christmas’ we have ever had with both our kids and their lovely spouses!We enjoyed just being together, playing games, laughing, LOTS of hugs!
    We are so thankful for the children that God gave us, you are ALL, Zach, Stephanie, Rachael and Ben SO VERY SPECIAL to us. Thank you for wanting to surprise us and make Christmas 2013 one of the greatest ever, WE LOVE YOU!
    Rachael & Ben, we can’t wait for you to be back in America!
    Love,
    Mom & Dad Games XOXOXOXO

Leave a Reply

